The Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR) from the council of Europe sets standards to be obtained at every stage of learning a language. It also gives you guidelines regarding the teaching approach, the recommended materials and the students' evaluation.
This framework is not only used in Europe but also in many countries all over the world.

Levels of the CEFR

-Beginners (A1):
Complete beginners: Students with no knowledge of the language (starting A1-0, doing a A1-1 class).
False beginners: Students with almost no knowledge of the language (starting A1-1, doing a A1-2 class).
Strong beginners: Students with 20 to 30 hours of French (starting A1-2, doing a A1-3 class).
Beginning Elementary: Students with 30 to 50 hours of French (starting A1-3, doing a A1-4 class).

-Elementary (level A2):
Students with some basic knowledge (starting a A2 minus or A2 class).
You may stay do several classes at A2 level before reaching B1.

- Intermediate (level B1):
Students with good foundations in the language.
You can handle almost any situation in French, but you still need to work on your grammar and acquire more vocabulary.
You may stay do several classes at B1 level before reaching B2, even stay at B1 for many years. The goal is also to maintain that level.

- Operational and advanced (levels B2, C1, C2): students with a good or excellent knowledge of the language.
You can work and study in French.

Assess your level: here

Contact us to do a short placement test.


The Interagency Language Roundtable scale (ILR) is a similar framework setting levels as abilities to communicate in a language. It had been developed by the Interagency Language Roundtable (ILR) and the State Department. The ILR describes five levels of language proficiency, and is the standard grading scale in the federal service.

A1 0 - 1
A2 1+ - 2
B1 2+ - 3
B2 3+
C1 4
C2 4+